Winners Triple Crown Horse Racing

By Richard Rosenblatt

  1. Horse Racing's Triple Crown Winners
  2. Triple Crown Winners Horse Racing Secretariat
  3. All 12 Triple Crown Winners
  4. Fastest Triple Crown Race Times
  5. Winners Of Triple Crown Horse Racing

The Triple Crown of horse racing consists of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes. The series starts on the first Saturday in May with the Kentucky Derby, then followed two weeks later by the Preakness with the Belmont three weeks later. Triple Crown Winners of Horse Racing. Triple Crown horse racing results, news, notes, history, photos, and comments. Kentucky Derby 2021. Kentucky Derby 2021 Contenders. Triple Crown Winners & Misses. Classic - Authentic. Distaff - Monomoy Girl. Sprint - Whitmore. Juvenile - Essential Quality. Following a 37-year drought in Triple Crown Winners, American Pharoah famously ran to victory in the 2015 Belmont Stakes. And most recently, Justify prevailed in all 3 races in 2018 to make Bob Baffert one of only two trainers with multiple Triple Crown winners (Jim Fitzsimmons was the other with Gallant Fox in 1930 and Omaha in 1935.

For those who like to toss around names and numbers – and in horse racing who doesn’t? — consider these Triple Crown nuggets:

Five of the nation’s most prominent trainers (Todd Pletcher, Bob Baffert, Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown and Brad Cox) combined to nominate 37.4% of the 326 3-year-olds for the 2021 Triple Crown.

For those counting, Pletcher (as usual) led all trainers with 45 nominees, while Baffert trains 23 nominees, Asmussen 22, Chad Brown 18 and recent Eclipse Award winner Cox 14.

That totals 122 of the 326 nominees for the Kentucky Derby (G1) on May 1, the Preakness (G1) on May 15 and the Belmont Stakes (G1) on June 5.

Horse Racing's Triple Crown Winners

For five trainers!

Pletcher is a two-time Derby and three-time Belmont winner, Baffert is a six-time Derby, seven-time Preakness winner, three-time Belmont winner and two-time Triple Crown winner.

Asmussen is a two-time Preakness and one-time Belmont winner; Brown has a Preakness win; and Cox is looking for his first win in a Triple Crown race – and has several Derby contenders this year, including Essential Quality, the unbeaten 2-year-old champion male set for his 3-year-old debut in the Southwest Stakes (G3) on Feb. 15.

A year ago, and before the COVID-19 pandemic altered the Triple Crown schedule, Pletcher, Asmussen and Baffert were the top three in nominations, totaling 66 of 347 (19%). Brown had eight, and Cox five, and altogether the five had 79 of 347 for 22.7%).

We’re not exactly sure what this will mean as the Derby approaches, but it’ll be worth watching since the Triple Crown usually is a long, treacherous road filled with potholes.

Lucky red casino no deposit bonus 2020. Enough with the trainers, and on to the horses.

Triple Crown Winners Horse Racing Secretariat

Cox and Baffert currently have the leading Derby contenders that are Triple Crown-nominated: Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1) winner Essential Quality and

Smarty Jones winner Caddo River for Cox; and Sham Stakes (G3) winner Life is Good; Robert B. Lewis (G3) winner Medina Spirit for Baffert.

Winners of triple crown horse racing

The early nomination phase closed on Jan. 23, and the list of nominees was released on Thursday (Feb. 4) by Churchill Downs, home of the Derby.

All 12 Triple Crown Winners

Godolphin led all individual owners with 11 nominees, including Essential Quality. Brad Kelley’s famed Calumet Farm was next with 10 nominees.

Thirteen fillies were nominated, including 2-year-old champion Vequist, winner of the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies (G1) and Ashland (G1) winner Simply Ravishing. Five horses nominated are based in Japan.

The early nominations were 21 fewer than 2020, a dip of 6.1%. A total of 42 stakes winners were nominated. A $600 fee is charged for early nomination; it will cost $6,000 for the next nomination period that closes March 29; and any horse not nominated could become eligible with a supplemental payment — $200,000 for the Derby, $100,000 for the Preakness and $50,000 for the Belmont.

Fastest Triple Crown Race Times

Winners Of Triple Crown Horse Racing